In 1890, art lover and collector Henri Van Cutsem inherited a building looking out onto the street that is now called Avenue des Arts/Kunstlaan. Built in the neoclassical style, it had four bays and dated from 1844. He then bought the adjacent building and had it demolished and rebuilt to create a unified whole.
Van Cutsem commissioned architect Victor Horta to design long glass-roofed galleries at the rear, linked together by a pavilion on the site of a small courtyard. Inside, windows attributed to Horta still adorn certain rooms or act as partitions, most notably between the smoking room, the painting gallery and the small drawing room. During his lifetime, Van Cutsem would invite artists and writers to the house, and was a generous patron to many of them. Those in his circle included Édouard Agneessens, Théodore Baron, James Ensor, Joseph Stevens and Willy Finch. When he died, he left the house to sculptor Guillaume Charlier, who gifted it to the Municipality of Saint-Josse-ten-Noode/Sint-Joost-ten-Node in 1925. Today, the museum hosts exhibitions and concerts that attract loyal audiences and visitors keen to immerse themselves in the collections of this temple of art and culture. (Listed 15/07/1993)
Sat. & Sun., 10:00 to 18:00
Avenue des Arts/Kunstlaan 16, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode/Sint-Joost-ten-Node
only with the activities “The Charlier Museum by ear – a meeting of artists” (see below).