Koekelberg Town Hall
The original Koekelberg Town Hall was built in 1882 to the plans of architect Constant Delplace. It underwent a makeover in 1903, but the town hall in its current form dates back to 1939, when architect Henri Jacobs was commissioned to modernise the existing building. The yellow Dauchot brick façades form part of a very geometric Art Deco style, while the white stone decorative bas-reliefs by sculptor Georges Vandevoorde depict scenes from everyday life. At the end of the large entrance hall frequented by the municipality’s residents, the main staircase illustrates the care Jacobs took with his interior decoration, reflected in the beautiful ironwork as well as the stained glass of the large bay window with its Art Deco-style floral garland flanked by a border of stylised stems. On the square outside, a sculpture called La Rencontre (The Meeting) stands opposite the town hall. Annie Jungers’s work symbolises the role of this place, transformed from a car park into a space where members of the public meet and interact. Since it was installed in 2008, it has become an iconic feature of the municipality.
Guided tours: Sat. & Sun. at 10:00, 11:00, 12:00, 14:00, 15:00, 16:00 and 17:00 (in French); 10:30, 11:30, 12:30, 14:30, 15:30, 16:30 and 17:30 (in Dutch). In cooperation with La Fonderie and Brussels Chatterguides.