Parliament of the French Community
Attributed to architect Barnabé Guimard, this neoclassical-style building with a centred triangular pediment was built around 1777 for Charles François, Comte de Lannoy, as a symmetrical counterbalance to the other building at the corner of Rue des Colonies/Koloniënstraat. The building is part of a vast complex centred around Parc de Bruxelles/Warandepark (mainly in Rue Royale/Koningsstraat and Rue de la Loi/Wetstraat). In 1834, it was acquired by Eugène, Prince of Ligne, who gave it the name Hôtel de Ligne, which it retains to this day. It was bought in 1897 by Brussels’ tram operator Tramways Bruxellois, before becoming home to a bank in 1900. In 2001, the building, following a complete renovation, was repurposed to become the seat of the Parliament of the French Community. However, in a number of richly decorated historic rooms which were preserved, visitors can admire elegant original stucco ceilings reminiscent of the neoclassical style (or ‘Louis XVI style’, as it is sometimes known). Forming the backdrop to the political activities of the French Community, the Hôtel de Ligne has many committee rooms and a parliamentary chamber – forums for exchange, debate and decision-making that are integral to the parliamentary work taking place here, at the heart of the democratic process.
Guided tours: Sat. at 10:00, 11:00, 12:00, 14:00, 15:00 and 16:00 (in French); 10:30, 11:30, 12:30, 14:30, 15:30 and 16:30 (in Dutch). In cooperation with Itinéraires, sur les Sentiers de l’Histoire and Klare Lijn.