visits / exhibition
Hôtel Dewez – Belgian Museum of Freemasonry
Long believed to be the home of architect Laurent-Benoît Dewez, this elegant neoclassical town house, built by Dewez between 1760 and 1770, was actually owned by his mother-in-law. Originally, the building had five bays, including the one in the projecting axis under a triangular pediment. The entablature at the top is punctuated with oculi. Following a series of restorations between 2008 and 2011, the rendered and white-painted façade has been restored to its neoclassical unity. Inside, period features such as panelling and wallpaper have been returned to their original spaces and settings. A gallery has been added above the stables behind the house. Hôtel Dewez is a stunning example of the work of an architect who was trained in the neoclassical style by Carlo Marchionni and Luigi Vanvitelli in Italy and in Robert Adam's studio in the United Kingdom. It is now home to the fascinating Belgian Museum of Freemasonry, which details the history, symbolism and values of the Freemasons through a collection of artworks, decorative items and jewellery as well as crockery, documents and books dating from the 18th century to the present day. (Listed 13/02/1992)
The museum areas will be open to the public for the Heritage Days. Works from the museum's collections by artists from the Art Nouveau period will also be on display.
Sun. 10:00 to 18:00
Rue de Laeken/Lakensestraat 73 – Brussels
Advance booking not required