Academie Beeldende & Audiovisuele Kunsten Anderlecht

A. de Ville de Goyet ©

Although its façade claims that the building was constructed in 1563, the 'Flemish House' was actually erected in 1890 on the site of an older structure. It was commissioned by Jules Vandenpeereboom (1843-1917), a lawyer, politician and long-time Minister for Railways, Postal Services and the Telegraph System who was later appointed a Minister of State, and designed by architect François Malfait (1872-1955). It is therefore a work in the eclectic tradition, blending neo-Gothic and neo-Renaissance styles to recreate the character of a 16th-century dwelling. Vandenpeereboom intended his house to be a showcase for his collections of furniture, antiques and old books. Special care was taken over its interior decor, which includes a wealth of older items recovered from historic residences, such as monumental stone fireplaces, carved panelling and stained glass. When Vandenpeereboom died in 1917, the house passed to the Belgian State. Since 1979, it has been home to the Academie voor Beeldende Kunsten art school, which expanded to occupy the industrial buildings of the former print shop next door. The academy has a number of studios, including for restoration and colour restoration. (Listed 28/02/2002)

Practical information

Sat. 9:00 to 17:00

Place de la Vaillance/Dapperheidsplein – Anderlecht

Advance booking not required

Non accessible

Non accessible