Notre-Dame de Stockel/ Onze-Lieve-Vrouw-van-Stokkel Church
This audacious project was the brainchild of architects René Aerts and Paul Ramon, who drew up the plans for it in 1957 and 1958. Construction work began in 1962 and the church was completed in 1967. The original plans for the building included a pyramidal roof, but this was replaced by the structure we see today. Only the exposed bells and the monumental cross crowning the building give an indication of its function. Going by its appearance alone, it could just as well be a sports centre or an office block. The church’s glass façades, with their resemblance to curtain walls, and its cuboid shape directly link it to other buildings erected in the same period. With its fairly low ground floor acting as a base, the church takes advantage of the slightly sloping ground and forms a kind of gallery edged by support stilts, as its first floor overhangs the rest of the structure at the sides. Aside from the rough sandstone used for its base, the building is an attractive blend of smooth, bush-hammered and ‘raw’ white concrete and stained glass punctuated with aluminium dividers, creating an effect that calls to mind the work of painter Piet Mondrian. The church’s enormous stained-glass windows, which were designed by Pierre Majerus from 1976 onwards, bring a splash of colour to the otherwise austere building.
Guided tours. In cooperation with Bruxelles Bavard.
Sat., 14:00 to 17:00, Sun., 14:00 to 18:00
Rue de l’Église/Kerkstraat, Woluwe-Saint-Pierre/Sint-Pieters-Woluwe