Programme

Parc de Wolvendael/Wolvendaelpark

A. de Ville de Goyet © urban.brussels

The Wolvendael (meaning ‘valley at the turn’, with the ‘turn’ probably referring to a bend in the watercourse here) was first mentioned back in 1209, in a cartulary from Affligem Abbey. The modern-day park, standing on a very uneven slope of the Ukkelbeek valley and formerly part of the ancient Sonian Forest, is bounded by two very old roads, the Dieweg and the Crabbegat. The site belonged to various owners who each contributed to the development of the park which, in 1763, at the time of the construction of the castle of the same name, still had a geometric French garden. However, the layout would soon be changed to reflect the picturesque English Romantic style, which had come into fashion. Today, the park’s varied landscapes include a mix of extensive scalloped lawns, groves of trees, and banks that make the most of the hilly terrain. It still has a green theatre, along with a small building called the Bergerie, where actors used to change, and an elegant Rococo-style pavilion bought in Amsterdam in 1877 and rebuilt here stone by stone, which is now used as a restaurant and art gallery. Following a renovation of its paths and tracks, the park is now looking at its best once again and being enjoyed by sports enthusiasts and walkers, while the playground at the top of the site is popular with children. (Listed 08/11/1972)

Practical information

Avenue Wolvendael/Wolvendaellaan / Avenue Paul Stroobant/Paul Stroobantlaan / Rue Rouge/Rodestraat / Dieweg / Chemin du Crabbegat/Crabbegatweg / Avenue De Fré/De Frélaan / Square des Héros/Heldensquare, Uccle/Ukkel

T
4 51 92 Héros - Helden
B
37 38 41 43 70 98 Héros - Helden