Square Armand Steurs/Armand Steurssquare
Laid out according to the plans of architect Eugène Dhuicque, Square Armand Steurs/Armand Steurssquare was inaugurated with great pomp and ceremony on 3 July 1932. Named after a mayor of Saint-Josse-ten-Noode/Sint-Joost-ten-Node who championed the supply of mains water to various Brussels neighbourhoods, this square is a prime example of urban design between the First and Second World Wars. Created following the covering-over of the railway line between Brussels and Luxembourg, the square is asymmetrical in its composition, with a complex layout that makes the most of the sloping ground. It features strategically-placed sculptures by renowned artists, including Les Carriers (The Quarrymen) by Guillaume Charlier and La Source (The Spring) by Julien Dillens. The latter stands in front of the exedra, where a ‘Centenary’ tree was planted to commemorate 100 years of Belgian independence. As well as being a pleasant place for a stroll, the square is a great space for the local community to come together and for exhibitions and concerts. An exhibition of contemporary monumental sculptures has been held here every September for 29 years. (Listed 17/06/1993)
Guided tours giving visitors a chance to discover, among other things, architect Eugène Dhuicque’s recommendations in his blueprint for the square (increasing the number of benches and quiet corners to make the square as welcoming as possible): Sat. & Sun. at 11:00, 14:00 and 15:30 (in French).
In cooperation with Les Amis du Square Armand Steurs/De Vrienden van de Armand Steurssquare.