Saint-Josse-ten-Noode/ Sint-Joost-ten-Node Town Hall (fully booked)
Nestled beneath a soaring glass tower stands Saint-Josse-ten-Noode/Sint-Joost-ten-Node Town Hall with its fine Beaux-Arts façade, completed in 1911. The Beaux-Arts architectural style, which flourished between the 1860s and the First World War, takes its name from the Paris École and Académie des Beaux-Arts and draws inspiration from the major French architectural styles of the 18th century. The building that originally stood on this site was the home of virtuoso musician Charles de Bériot. It was purchased by the municipal authorities in 1868 and turned into a town hall by architect G. Charle, based on plans drawn up in 1908 and 1909. The main entrance, with its elegant wrought-iron canopy, is set in the semicircular central bay of the façade, which culminates in a dome topped with a roof lantern. An attic frieze decorated with garlands adorns the cornice. In 1967, architect Jean-Pierre Vandenhoutte was tasked with enlarging the town hall with an extension on the corner of Rue de l’Alliance/Verbondstraat. Inside the building is a magnificent monumental staircase, its wrought-iron structure illuminated by a stained-glass window bearing the municipality’s coat of arms, while the floor is covered in elegant mosaics bordered with waved friezes, a design that is also found on the next level. (Listed since 22 October 1992)
Guided tours, Sunday at 13:00, 14:00, 15:00, 16:00 (French), 13:30, 14:30, 15:30, 16:30 (Dutch). In cooperation with Bruxelles Bavard.
Sun. only, 13:00 to 17:00
Avenue de l’Astronomie/Sterrenkundelaan 13, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode/Sint-Joost-ten-Node
Guided tours only – advance booking required