De Ultieme Hallucinatie (fully booked)
Although the neoclassical town house at Rue Royale/Koningsstraat 316 was built in 1841, it was completely overhauled in 1904 by architect Paul Hamesse, who opted for a geometrical Art Nouveau style. In consultation with his clients, the Cohn-Donnay family, he filled the house with handsome furniture that perfectly matched the decor. The Vienna Secession and Greek Revival styles are very much in evidence in the front drawing room, with its impressive marble fireplace and its frieze depicting dancing women, while the influence of Scottish architect Charles Rennie Mackintosh is visible in the stylised floral motifs and white-painted woodwork of the small central sitting room. Also noteworthy are the chess room and its stained-glass skylight, the large hallway with its mosaic floor and walls painted with insects, the billiard room and the stylised trees adorning its walls, and the stained-glass door separating the billiard room from the dining room, where the elegant peacock motif seen on the door is echoed on the ceiling, along with flowered umbels. Turning to the façade, the original balcony has been incorporated into a projecting wooden oriel in the Art Nouveau style. Today, this oriel is inscribed with the name of the restaurant that took over the building in late 1981, De Ultieme Hallucinatie. Its traditional cuisine with plenty of Belgian touches has long been popular with customers, who come back again and again to enjoy this unique decor. (Listed 08/08/1988)
Guided tours: Sat. & Sun. at 10:00, 11:00, 12:00, 14:00, 15:00, 16:00 and 17:00 (in French); 10:30, 11:30, 12:30, 14:30, 15:30, 16:30 and 17:30 (in Dutch). In cooperation with Pro Velo and Korei Guided Tours.
Sat. & Sun., 10:00 to 18:00
Rue Royale/Koningsstraat 316, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode/Sint-Joost-ten-Node
Guided tours and by reservation only