Van der Kelen-Logelain School of Painting (fully booked)
Topped with a stepped gable, the Flemish neo-Renaissance building that houses the Van der Kelen-Logelain School of Painting was designed by Jules-Jacques Van Ysendyck in 1881 for Prosper Schryvers, a master ironworker who adorned its façade with numerous decorative elements, from anchors, brackets and spikes to grilles for the windows of the cellar and the other floors, that are a testament to his skill. At the same time, Schuyvers had a huge workshop built at the rear of the property; the school moved into this space in 1902, and its classes take place here to this day. Pierre Logelain opened Brussels’ first school of decorative painting in 1882, with Alfred Van der Kelen following suit in 1892. The two schools merged in 1951 under the leadership of Clément Van der Kelen, whose family still delivers internationally-renowned training in the art of decorative painting. The curriculum includes trompe-l’œil painting, particularly methods of imitating wood and marble, and older techniques that restorers can use to recreate the decorative styles of yesteryear. Some impressive examples of the craft can be seen in the house’s hallway and other rooms.
Guided tour of the workshop and commentary on the façade on Sun. at 11:00.
Sun. only, 10:00 to 18:00
Rue du Métal/Metaalstraat 30, Saint-Gilles/Sint-Gillis
Advance booking required
Accessible with assistance