Former Ægidium entertainment venue
The Ægidium complex was built in 1905 by architect Guillaume Segers. It was named the Diamond Palace by its owner, who used it as a huge venue for parties and shows. When it later became a dance hall, it changed its name to Panthéon-Palace. It did not become the Ægidium until 1929, when a priest called Gaspar Simons bought it and placed it under the protection of St Giles. It was then used to host parish activities and receptions. In 1933, it underwent a complete renovation by architect Léon Denis, and a cinema was established on the site. Its façade, designed in a neoclassical-inspired eclectic style, may look fairly unassuming, but a real surprise is in store for those venturing inside: the complex's interior is sumptuously decorated, containing well-preserved spaces where Art Nouveau and Art Deco features rub shoulders with elements drawn from the Louis XVI decorative style, such as floral garlands, putti and medallions. Breathtaking as these rooms may be, the star of the show is undoubtedly the Moorish hall, whose oriental look is like something out of the Arabian Nights and is unparalleled anywhere else in Brussels. In its day, this venue was at the heart of the city's nightlife. The current regeneration project led by investment fund Alphastone and Brussels start-up Cohabs will see the site turned into a cultural complex open to the public. (Protected 15/05/1997)
Guided tours in cooperation with Arkadia and Korei Guided Tours.
Guided tours in French Belgian Sign Language: Saturday at 14:15 and dimanche at 12:15. In cooperation with Arts & Culture (more info and booking : https://heritagedays.urban.brussels/en/practicalities/).
Parvis de Saint-Gilles/Sint-Gillisvoorplein 18 – Saint-Gilles/Sint-Gillis
Guided tours and by reservation only