Programme

Former Ægidium cinema (fully booked)

A. de Ville de Goyet © urban.brussels

The Aegidium cinema first opened in 1905. Its façade, designed in a neoclassical-inspired eclectic style, may look fairly unassuming, but a real surprise is in store for those venturing through its doors: the complex’s interior is sumptuously decorated, containing well-preserved spaces where Art Nouveau and Art Deco features rub shoulders with elements drawn from the Louis XVI decorative style, such as floral garlands, putti and medallions. Breathtaking as these rooms may be, the star of the show is undoubtedly the Moorish hall, which was turned into a cinema auditorium by architect Léon Denis in 1933. It is the only space of its kind in Brussels, its interlaced ornamentation, shells, palm trees, geometrical friezes, slender columns, horseshoe arches, mirrors and traces of invented script plunging visitors into a world of Eastern enchantment straight out of the Arabian Nights. A regeneration project led by investment fund Alphastone and Brussels start-up Cohabs is being developped. (Protected since 15 May 1997)

Guided tours on Sat. & Sun. at 10:00, 12:30, 15:00 and 17:00 (French), 11:30, 14:00 and 16:00 (Dutch). In cooperation with Arkadia and Korei.

Practical information

Sat. & Sun., 10:00 to 18:00

Parvis de Saint-Gilles/Sint-Gillisvoorplein 18, Saint-Gilles/Sint-Gillis

Guided tours only – advance booking required

T
3 4 51 Parvis Saint-Gilles - Sint-Gillisvoorplein
B
48 Parvis Saint-Gilles - Sint-Gillisvoorplein
Non accessible

Non accessible

Bookings

Choose your visit schedule, taking into account the language of the potential guided tours (duration: 30 min.)
fully booked
fully booked