Saint-Jean-Baptiste/ Sint-Johannes de Doper Church

A. de Ville de Goyet ©

Saint-Jean-Baptiste/Sint-Johannes de Doper Church is one of three concrete churches in Brussels. Construction work on the building began in 1931 under the watchful eye of architect Joseph Diongre and took just 15 months to complete. Although Diongre elected to give the new church a traditional Latin cross layout, he chose to position its 56-metre bell tower on its façade. The church’s exterior is clad in white Brauvilliers stone, while its interior is decorated with a splendid array of Belgian marbles. Parabolic arches, inspired by the concrete structures designed by architect Eugène Freyssinet for the airship hangars at Paris’s Orly Airport, lend a sense of breadth and lightness to the nave, which is attractively illuminated by a unique set of brightly-coloured stained-glass windows inserted directly into 604 prefabricated latticework panels. These windows, whose non-figurative designs were drawn by Diongre, were crafted at Fernand Crickx’s Brussels workshop and were painstakingly restored in 2004. On sunny days, the light shining through them creates captivating colour effects marrying yellow, orange or red with sky blue. Mosaics of the 12 apostles, drawn by Pierre de Vaucleroy, nestle between the two layers of windows lining the nave. (Listed since 29 February 1984)

Practical information

Sat., 10:00 to 18:00, Sun., 14:00 to 18:00

Parvis Saint-Jean-Baptiste/Sint-Jan-Baptistvoorplein, Molenbeek-Saint-Jean/Sint-Jans-Molenbeek

1 5 Comte de Flandre - Graaf Van Vlaanderen
89 Comte de Flandre - Graaf Van Vlaanderen
Accessible with assistance

Accessible with assistance