Hungarian House (fully booked)

A. de Ville de Goyet ©

Designed in eclectic style with obvious references to the Italian Renaissance, this charming town house was built in 1872 for stockbroker Ferdinand Grosjean. In 1897 it became the home of Paul Saintenoy, who used it as a showcase for his art collection. When he died in 1952, he left the collection to the Cinquantenaire Museum. Inside, the mix of styles offers a chronological overview of art history. In the hall, a rococo newel post sits alongside a Gothic statue of St Michael under an ornate canopy, neo-Renaissance doors and a Louis-XIII-style banister. While the coffered ceiling in the dining room with its painted grisaille arabesques is a nod to the Renaissance, those in the library and the large drawing room, with their corbel beams and timber partitions, are neo-Gothic in style. And whereas the woodwork, and in particular the door and window frames, are more reminiscent of Art Nouveau, the more classically-designed panelling echoes French styles. Meanwhile, the stained-glass windows in the stairwell and large drawing room, designed by master glassmaker Raphaël Evaldre and renowned poster designer and interior designer Henri Privat-Livemont, add a pleasant touch of colour. Since 1955, the building has been home to the Hungarian House (Magyar Ház) run by non-profit organisation Mission Catholique Hongroise de Bruxelles/Hongaarse Katholieke Missie Te Brussel, which aims to provide support for Hungarian migrants living in Belgium. Today, it is a place where people can meet and listen to each other. (Listed 02/07/1992)

Guided tours: Sat. at 10:00, 11:00, 12:00, 14:00, 15:00 and 16:00 (in French); 10:30, 11:30, 12:30, 14:30, 15:30 and 16:30 (in Dutch). In cooperation with Arkadia and Klare Lijn.

Practical information

Sat. only, 10:00 to 17:00

Rue de l’Arbre Bénit/Gewijde-Boomstraat 123, Ixelles/Elsene

Guided tours and by reservation only

71 Fernand Cocq
54 Vanne - Verlaat
Non accessible

Non accessible