University Foundation (fully booked)
The buildings that have housed the University Foundation since the early 1920s were erected and altered between 1870 and 1958. Work on the complex over the years was overseen by architects Eugène Flanneau, Ernest Jaspar and Maurice Haek. The University Foundation was created after the First World War and was officially recognised as an establishment operating in the public interest in 1920. It seeks to offer researchers financial support and act as a forum for interaction between academia and civil-society leaders. For several decades, the Foundation served as the headquarters of the Belgian National Fund for Scientific Research (FRS-FNRS). The reception rooms in the buildings have retained their old splendour, as have the meeting and reading rooms; these are still bedecked with high panelling and attractive stucco ceilings, some of which have patterns reminiscent of those seen on Arabian ceramics. The walls of the dining room are adorned with painted plant motifs in the Art Deco style, while other rooms boast such attractive features as a Chinese screen, or ceramic tiles around the fireplace. There is an intimate atmosphere throughout, calling to mind the ambiance of British private members’ clubs.
Guided tours, Sat. & Sun. at 10:00, 11:00, 12:00, 14:00, 15:00, 16:00 and 17:00 (French), 10:30, 11:30, 12:30, 14:30, 15:30, 16:30 and 17:30 (Dutch). In cooperation with Pro Velo.
Sat. & Sun., 10:00 to 18:00
Rue d’Egmont/Egmontstraat 11, Brussels
Guided tours only – advance booking required