At the corner of Rue du Marché au Charbon/Kolenmarkt and Plattesteen stands the iconic Brussels bar-restaurant that takes its name not only from the nearby street, but also from an alleyway that once afforded access to a 12th-century cut-stone mansion that stood near the residence of the Counts of Leuven (the Castrum) and was also known as Plattesteen. The bar-restaurant are situated on the ground floor of an Art Deco apartment building designed in 1932 by architect René Noteris, who gave his construction rounded corner bays and bow windows.
The establishment is still decorated with its original wooden panelling, benches and bar and its terrazzo floor, whose irregular geometrical designs form an attractive, colourful patchwork in a style highly representative of the period when the building was erected. When the patrons of this typical Brussels bar-restaurant are not inside enjoying its warm, friendly atmosphere, they can be found soaking up the ambience in its outdoor seating area, which is one of the most appealing in this vibrant Brussels neighbourhood.
Guided tours. In cooperation with Brussels Bavard.