Visits / Exhibition
Brussels City Museum – Maison du Roi / Broodhuis
Known as the Maison du Roi (King's House) or Broodhuis, the building opposite the Town Hall in Grand-Place/Grote Markt is home to the Brussels City Museum. It was officially opened in 1887 at the initiative of mayor Charles Buls and archivist Alphonse Wauters. Architect Pierre-Victor Jamaer was appointed to completely remodel the building, which had been significantly modified following the bombardment ordered by Marshal Villeroy in 1695. Jamaer drew heavily on old engravings as well as the profile of Oudenaarde Town Hall, in order to give it the appearance it might have had under the rule of Holy Roman Emperor Charles V, following the principle of stylistic unity extolled by Viollet-le-Duc. A group of artists was tasked with sculpting the countless gables, ridges, hooks, coats of arms, florets and statues. The museum houses some remarkable collections that bring the commercial city's rich history to life. In addition to models, flags, ironwork objects, sculptures and paintings, the institution holds a unique collection of Brussels altarpieces from the 15th and 16th centuries, some attractive pieces of Brussels porcelain, as well as tapestries that recall the city's important weaving past.
The museum will be highlighting the Art Nouveau heritage in its collections. The Back to Nature capsule exhibition illustrates how nature was the great source of inspiration for all the arts around 1900, whether through the undulating lines of flowers and plants or the sublimated image of women. (Listed 05/03/1936)
Guided tours in cooperation with the Brussels City Museum – Maison du Roi/Broodhuis team.
Self-guided tours of the King's House must be booked via: https://maisonduroi.recreatex.be/Exhibitions/Overview?language=en
Sat. & Sun. 10:00 to 17:00
Grand-Place/Grote Markt, Brussels
Reservation only for guided tours