Programme

De Markten

A. de Ville de Goyet © urban.brussels

Until 1965, this grand building made of Euville limestone was owned by crystal glassware manufacturer Val Saint Lambert. Today, it houses the Dutch-speaking cultural centre De Markten. The front edifice, facing onto the street, was built in the Beaux-Arts style by architect Oscar Francotte between 1911 and 1914. There is also a large warehouse to the rear, dating from 1854. The mosaic-floor staircase and the resplendent Mirror Hall, which takes up the entire first floor, bear witness to the golden age of crystal. Built in neo-Louis-XVI style, the Mirror Hall skilfully combines stucco, ornate panelling and bevelled mirrors. The room was used in the past to showcase glass art, its mirrors reflecting to infinity the brilliance of the artworks. The complex, whose façade still retains the cartouche of Val Saint Lambert, hosts a wide range of events, including workshops, debates, plays and exhibitions, which are open to members of all communities. Its spacious terrace, perfectly situated under the trees on the square, helps to make the centre a popular social hub.

Practical information

Place du Vieux Marché aux Grains/Oude Graanmarkt 5, Brussels

M
1 5 De Brouckère
T
3 4 Bourse - Beurs
B
29 46 66 71 86 88 De Brouckère
B
33 46 48 86 95 Bourse - Beurs
B
33 86 Dansaert
Non accessible

Non accessible