Brussels Stock Exchange (Bourse/Beurs)
The Brussels Stock Exchange opened in 1873, replacing a number of older premises scattered across the city. The building was part of a large-scale project to redevelop the city centre, including alterations to the surrounding streets and construction of the central boulevards, of which the Stock Exchange was to be a key focal point. Work began in 1868, led by architect Léon Suys. Suys designed a building with a basilical ground plan in neo-Renaissance style which clearly shows the influence of Palladio in the dome with pendentive, the pediment and the arcade façade. A monumental staircase flanked by sculpted lions leads to a peristyle bounded by six columns with Corinthian capitals supporting a triangular pediment with a carved tympanum. The side façades have a very dynamic quality thanks to the presence of a central bay topped by an archivolt, which was modified at the turn of the 20th century by architect Jules Brunfaut. Inside, four monumental supports fronted by Corinthian columns compartmentalise the magnificent, richly ornamented space, where remarkable stucco decoration covers the central dome, arches and vaults with a network of floral garlands, foliage and stylised motifs. A major restoration project is under way. Scheduled for completion in 2023, it will transform the Bourse/Beurs into a cultural and tourist destination – with a skybar, restaurant and brasserie, access to the ‘Bruxella 1238’ archaeological site and the permanent visitor experience Belgian Beer World – as well as a central meeting point for tourists and locals alike. (Listed – 19/11/1986)
Sun.: 10:00, 11:00.
Sun. only, 10:00 to 16:00
Boulevard Anspach/Anspachlaan, Brussels
Advance booking required