The home of the Parliament of the Brussels-Capital Region once housed the Provincial Council of Brabant and its administrative staff. The main entrance to the complex is in the Beaux-Arts wing, designed by architect Georges Hano. This part of the building features a large original Mirror Hall, which has been carefully restored and is now used for parliamentary and cultural functions. Other imposing reception rooms are located to the rear of the building. These date back to the original structure, erected in 1696, which was called the Hôtel de Limminghe and served as the residence of the British envoy and the apostolic vicar or nuncio in Brussels. A 1995 extension on the roof of the original building holds the parliamentary chamber, where debates and votes take place. It is designed as a glass window open to the city, reflecting a desire for transparency. The building is also used for parliamentary meetings of the Brussels institutions. In 2013, the Parliament building was extended to incorporate number 77, Rue du Lombard/Lombardstraat, its contemporary design showcasing a commitment to sustainable development. Currently, the Parliament is working on restoring the former post office building La Couronne d’Espagne in Place de la Vieille-Halle-aux-Blés/Oud Korenhuis. This building is scheduled to open in late 2021. (Listed 09/02/1995)
Guided tours: Sat. & Sun. at 10:00, 11:00, 12:00, 14:00, 15:00, 16:00 and 17:00 (in French); 10:30, 11:30, 12:30, 14:30, 15:30, 16:30 and 17:30 (in Dutch). In cooperation with Itinéraires, sur les Sentiers de l’Histoire and Klare Lijn.
Exhibition: “Traces”. Collection of portraits (photographs) and texts (personal testimonies) put together during the first wave of the COVID-19 pandemic in Brussels’ Iris Hospitals South (https://www.tracescovid.be).
Sat. & Sun., 10:00 to 18:00
Rue du Lombard/Lombardstraat 69, Brussels
Guided tours and by reservation only
Accessible with assistance