G.A.CK – Former wire-drawing mill
In 1923, a Mr Verhaegen commissioned an industrial building from architect Charles Thomisse. The resulting structure was set back from the street, with two extra buildings added a couple of years later. The complex was listed in the business directory as a factory manufacturing hairpins and upholstery springs. The factory continued to expand, gaining new annexes in 1936 and 1951. Finally, architect Maximilien Dorselaer designed a modernist-style building in 1961, bringing the site to completion. There were offices at the front, behind the heavily glazed façade, while the rear housed workshops. The firm, part of French brand Épéda, was to close in the 1970s. In 2007, the complex was converted into homes following extensive restoration work. One of the spaces is taken up by the CinemaKina gallery-workshop (G.A.CK), which strives to promote artistic creation in a setting dedicated to exchange and interaction. To this end, it makes its premises available to artists and provides them with production and presentation resources. G.A.CK also organises exhibitions and working sessions, as well as hosting artists in residence. The small cinema shows films made on site and external productions.
Exhibition “Brussels’ cinemas – in augmented reality!”, based on Isabel Biver’s book Cinémas de Bruxelles (Brussels’ cinemas). Interactive tablets will immerse visitors in the ambiance and decor of the historic Brussels cinemas featuring on a special map of the Belgian capital. A selection of photos by Marie-Françoise Plissart will also be on show (as well as other artefacts from the various cinemas, brought to life in augmented reality).
Guided tours of the exhibition will be provided by its designers throughout the Heritage Days.
This exhibition also contains several short videofilms. In order to watch these you will need a mobile phone with a QR code reader and earplugs.
Sat. & Sun., 10:00 to 18:00
Rue Gustave Schildknecht/Gustave Schildknechtstraat 33/6, Brussels-Laeken/Laken
By reservation only