Ernest Salu’s former workshop
When funerary art was most popular, the Salu workshops were regarded as probably Brussels’ finest. The first of three generations of the Salu family to learn the art of sculpture, Ernest Salu (1846-1923), a pupil of Guillaume Geefs, had workshops built near Laeken/Laken Cemetery in 1882. The workshops expanded further over the years before finally closing their doors in 1984. Today, the buildings that once reverberated to the sound of the stonemason’s hammer and chisel have been converted into a museum of funerary art by the non-profit organisation Epitaaf ASBL/VZW. The perfectly preserved and entirely unique complex is home to an extensive collection of moulds and plasters from the Salu workshops themselves, and also from Emile Beernaert’s former workshop in Ixelles/Elsene and the former workshop of Saint-Gilles/Sint-Gillis sculptor and decorative artist Georges Houtstont, as well as an impressive selection of marbles and granites in a spectrum of subtly varying colours, all used for funerary art. (Listed since 14 May 1992)
Exhibition ‘Colour in the cemetery’, highlighting some 10 granite funerary monuments associated with Beernaert’s colourful projects.
Guided tours of the cemetery showing how granite such as the samples in the museum’s collection is used in a selection of funerary monuments, Sat. & Sun. at 11:00 and 14:00 (French), 10:30 and 13:30 (Dutch).
In cooperation with Epitaaf.
Sat. & Sun., 10:00 to 18:00
Parvis Notre-Dame/Onze-Lieve-Vrouwvoorplein 16, Brussels-Laeken/Laken
Advance booking required