Programme

Parc Léopold/Leopoldspark

A. de Ville de Goyet © urban.brussels

This park, much loved by Brussels residents, was laid out in the mid-19th century as part of plans to enhance and expand the city and the nearby Leopold Quarter. The upper part was developed following an agreement signed in 1892 between Mayor Charles Buls and industrialist Ernest Solvay, which provided for the creation of a science hub on the site of Parc Léopold/Leopoldspark. This led to a number of buildings springing up, somewhat to the detriment of the green space, which was already home to the Royal Museum of Natural History, located in a former Redemptoristine convent. However, the lower part of the park has stayed largely unchanged and continues to be a great place for a stroll. Among other things, visitors can enjoy the large pond that is all that remains of the once-rural Maelbeek/Maalbeek valley. This part of the park owes its appearance to landscape architect Louis Fuchs, who in collaboration with architects Alphonse Balat and Gédéon Bordiau designed a huge English-style garden in 1851, with undulating terrain and meandering slopes. Soon afterwards, the park became a zoo, as the inscription at the Chaussée d’Etterbeek/Etterbeeksesteenweg entrance still indicates. It continued to be used for this purpose until 1880. Today, it is a popular spot to walk or take a break, especially for those studying or working nearby. (Listed 18/11/1976)

Practical information

Rue Belliard/Belliardstraat / Chaussée d’Etterbeek/Etterbeeksesteenweg, Brussels-Extensions
M
1 5 Maelbeek/Schuman - Maalbeek/Schuman
B
59 60 Parc Léopold/Froissart - Leopoldspark/Froissart