Old Anderlecht Beguinage
The Anderlecht Beguinage is the smallest in Belgium. Together with the Erasmus House and the Gothic-style Saints-Pierre-et-Guidon/Sint-Pieter-en-Sint-Guido Collegiate Church, it is part of a remarkable cluster of historic listed buildings in the heart of the municipality.
The beguinage consists of two wings, built in the 15th, 16th and 18th centuries, either side of an enclosed garden with a well. Until the French Revolution it was home to eight beguines (lay nuns). It then served as a hospice and home for indigent women, before closing in 1928 and reopening in 1930 as a local history and folk museum.
The museum was dismantled and cleared out in 2021 to allow for extensive restoration. Now fully restored, this exceptional piece of architectural heritage, unique in Europe, is just waiting to be discovered.
Guided tours: ‘The Anderlecht Beguinage after restoration’
Sat.: 11:30, 14:00, 14:30, 16:30.
Sun.: 11:30, 14:00, 14:30.
Sat. & Sun.: 11:30, 14:30.
Performances by internationally renowned artists Coraline Guilbeau (Nantes/Brussels) and Jivan van der Ende (Netherlands), specially tailored to the location, its history and architecture. Concert by violinist Clara Levy: 13 Visions, a project inspired by Hildegarde Von Bingen and Pauline Oliveros, Sunday from 15:00 to 18:00.
Sat. & Sun., 10:00 to 18:00
Rue du Chapelain/Kapelaanstraat 8, Anderlecht
Reservation only for guided tours and performances