Programme

Erasmus House (fully booked)

A. de Ville de Goyet © urban.brussels

Built in three stages during the 15th and 16th centuries (from 1450 to 1515, to be precise), the Erasmus House is undoubtedly one of the oldest private houses in Brussels. It owes its name and fame to celebrated philosopher Desiderius Erasmus, also known as Erasmus of Rotterdam, who spent time there in 1521. It was restored in 1932 by architect Charles Van Elst with the support of Daniel Van Damme, who would go on to convert it into a museum dedicated to the great humanist. An unabashedly historical approach was taken to the restoration of the house’s interiors, which were painstakingly recreated based on historical documents and archaeological discoveries. They now serve as a showcase for a unique collection that includes the largest known set of 16th-century books by Erasmus and many artworks, sculptures and pieces of furniture, most of which were taken from the collection of Belgian government minister Jules Vandenpeerenboom. The antique paintings are particularly worthy of note: works by Hieronymus Bosch, Joos van Cleve, Quentin Massys, Pieter Huys and Frans Francken the Younger line the embossed Cordoba leather walls of the great Renaissance hall, while portraits of Erasmus by Albrecht Dürer, Hans Holbein the Younger and, again, Quentin Massys bedeck the walls of the study. (Listed since 25 October 1938)

Exhibition Omnia Vanitas : meet the artist, Eileen Cohen Süssholz, on Sun. at 15:00. The meeting will be in English.

Practical information

Sat. & Sun., 10:00 to 18:00

Rue du Chapitre/Kapittelstraat 31, Anderlecht

Advance booking required

M
5 Saint-Guidon - Sint-Guido
T
81 Saint-Guidon - Sint-Guido
B
46 Saint-Guidon - Sint-Guido
B
49 Saint-Guidon/Maison d’Érasme - Sint-Guido/Erasmushuis
Accessible with assistance

Accessible with assistance

Bookings

Choose your visit schedule, taking into account the language of the potential guided tours (duration: 30 min.)
fully booked