Programme

TO VISIT

Academie Beeldende Kunsten Anderlecht

© Academie voor Beeldende Kunsten Anderlecht

Although its façade claims the date of 1563, the ‘Flemish House’ was actually erected in 1890 on the site of an older structure. It was commissioned by Jules Vandenpeereboom (1843-1917), a lawyer, politician and long-time Minister for Railways, Postal Services and the Telegraph System who was later appointed an honorary Minister of State, and designed by architect François Malfait (1872-1955). This means that the building is a pastiche in the truest eclectic tradition, blending neo-Gothic and neo-Renaissance elements while recreating the character of a 16th-century dwelling, just as Vandenpeereboom wishes as he intended his house to be a museum of sorts designed as a showcase for his collections of furniture, antiques and old books. Special care was taken over the house’s ornamental features, which include a wealth of older items recovered from historic residences, such as monumental stone fireplaces, carved panelling and stained glass. When Vandenpeereboom died in 1917, it passed to the Belgian State. Since 1979, it has been home to the Academie voor Beeldende Kunsten art school (recently renamed Academie Beeldende Kunsten Anderlecht), which expanded to occupy the industrial buildings of the former print shop next door. The academy has a number of studios for disciplines including colour restoration, stained glass, textiles, woodwork, drawing, sculpture and ironwork. (Listed – 28/02/2002)

For the Heritage Days, several studios will be opening their doors and organising activities:

Woodwork and Painting studios: open day

Stained Glass studio: making a pendant, assembled using copper sheet

Stonework studio: making a clay mask

Textiles studio: making mud-based paint

Colour Restoration studio: showcasing the restoration of a piggy bank in the shape of an African boy who nods his head when a coin is inserted. Made from moulded and painted plaster, it dates from the first half of the 20th century and was used to raise funds for the Catholic Mission.

Ironwork studio: nail making, Sat. & Sun. at 13:00 and 15:00 (duration: 2 hours). Advance booking required (peter.de.beus@academieanderlecht.be). Up to 4 people per group. Please bring cotton workwear and sturdy (work) shoes.

Practical information

Sat. & Sun., 10:00 to 17:00

Place de la Vaillance/Dapperheidsplein, Anderlecht

Advance booking not required

Accessible

Accessible